The Shri Maha Kali Devi Mandir Inc.

Durga Maa

Durga Maa

The sixteenth deity that we worship is Nav Durga Maa (Another form of Mother Parvatie).

Durga Ammaa, also known as Nav Durga, is the consort of Lord Shiva. Nav Durga represents her nine shakti forms that fought on the battle against the five demons.

She sits on a tiger which is a sign of Her bravery and is well equipped to destroy problems of any nature that may affect Her devotees.

Durga Ammaa is said to have the mind of a warrior but the heart of loving Mother.

About Goddess Durga
Goddess Durga, also known as Devi, Shakti is the embodiment of sacred feminine power and is revered as a Warrior Goddess combating evils and demonic forces that threaten peace, prosperity and dharma of the good. She is the fierce form of the protective mother goddess, willing to unleash her anger against wrong, violence for liberation and destruction to empower creation. She is referred to as the Universal Mother and creative energy used against the negative forces of evil and wickedness.

Unique traits of Goddess Durga
Durga is depicted as a fearless woman riding a lion or tiger, with many arms each carrying a weapon and appears in Indian texts as the wife of Lord Shiva , as another form of Parvati or Mother Goddess. Endowed with 8 mighty arms carrying weapons of different kinds, she represents the power of the Supreme Being to preserve moral order and righteousness in creation. Goddess Durga protects humanity from evil and misery and destroys the negativity in our psyche. Though her demeanor is fierce and terrifying, she is benevolent and nurturing to her devotees.

Incarnations of Goddess Durga
The nine day festival of Navratri glorifies all her nine incarnations as mentioned below:

  • Shailaputra Devi: The embodiment of Shiva, Vishnu and Brahma.
  • Bhramacharini: Endows happiness, peace, prosperity and grace upon devotees.
  • Chandraghanta: Apostle of bravery and possess great strength.
  • Kushmanda: Dispeller of darkness.
  • Skanda mata: Mother of Skanda or Lord Kartikeya.
  • Katyayini: Born to sage Kata.
  • Saptami: Born with a dark complexion.
  • Maha Gauri: Epitome of intelligence, peace and calm.
  • Siddhidatri: Blesses all Gods, Saints, Yogis, Tantrics and Devotees.

Mythology of Goddess Durga

When the evil Buffalo Asura Mahisha wreaked havoc with his evil deeds in Heaven and on Earth, Goddess Durga was created out of the combined energies of Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva, and other gods. She was endowed with a variety of weapons and ornaments with each God presenting her with their most favored unique weapons. For nine days and nights, Goddess Durga led a battle against Mahishasura and ultimately slew him, fulfilling the prophecy that he would meet his death at the hands of a woman.

Unique Offering of Goddess Durga
By offering Goddess Durga, a Saree and a blouse-piece (Oti Bharane), one can achieve spiritual progress and welfare. A nine yard sari with each yard representing her 9 forms or Incarnations and implies, invoking the basic Unmanifest Divine Energy which encompasses all the manifest forms of the Goddess. Offerings of red coloured foods, red flowers, red kumkum, red cloth, etc. with the color red representing an important part of her iconography.

Benefits of Worshipping Goddess Durga
Devotees of Goddess Durga may face obstacles initially but over a period of time, these hardships fade away and worshippers are blessed with the grace of the Divine Mother. Those who pray to her on Tuesdays during Rahu Kaal (3 pm to 4.30 pm) will be showered by her benevolence. The Divine Mother protects her devotees from sorrow and misery and those who appease her will be endowed with a peaceful and happy life.


5 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Posts

Madurai Veeran

Madurai Veeran

The eighteenth deity that we worship is  Madurai Veeran. Madurai Veeran (Victor of Madurai). He is the guardian of Mariamma’s temple. His puja is always


Mariamma or Maha Kali Ammaa

Who is Kali?She is like the ocean under the moonlight, from far it is black and scary, but up close, the water is clear and

Durga Maa

Durga Maa

The sixteenth deity that we worship is Nav Durga Maa (Another form of Mother Parvatie). Durga Ammaa, also known as Nav Durga, is the consort

Saraswati Maa

Saraswati Maa

The fifteenth deity that we worship is Saraswati Maa. Saraswati Amma, also known as Varde Maa or Sharde Maa, is the consort of Lord Bramha. She

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x